Thursday, May 30, 2024
Home > News > URSB Boss Bemanya Election Director General For African Regional Intellectual Property Organization

URSB Boss Bemanya Election Director General For African Regional Intellectual Property Organization

At the Forty Fourth Session of the Administrative Council of the African Regional Intellectual Property Organization (ARIPO), Mr Bemanya Twebaze (pictured) was elected as Director General for the period January 01st, 2021 – December 31st, 2024.

Mr. Bemanya Twebaze is the current Registrar General of Uganda Registration Services Bureau (URSB) and Official Receiver of Uganda. Bemanya’s stellar performance as team leader of URSB has led to a 360 degree transformation of the organization that is credited for formalizing Uganda’s economy. URSB is recognized as one of the key performing agencies in Uganda having turned around service delivery through its zero tolerance to corruption stance under his stewardship.

Mr.Bemanya will also be fondly remembered as an inspiring leader, parent, mentor, turn-around guru and his attention to detail ensured that URSB’s services delivery was perfected. He instituted an admirable culture of time management and professionalism amongst the URSB staff that changed the whole outlook of the organization and led to the improvement of the service turn-around time from days, to just hours. He also front-led the crafting of theAll-digital ,All-online strategy that is credited for perfecting the new normal no-contact way of service delivery necessitated by the advent of the COVID-19 pandemic. URSB pledges to fully implement this strategy and ensure all Ugandans can easily access services.

Mr. Bemanya has served as Chairman of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) Advisory Committee on Enforcement (ACE)and is the immediate past President of the Paris Union Assembly (International Union for the Protection of Industrial Property).

ARIPO is an inter-governmental organization based in Harare Zimbabwe. ARIPO was established in 1976 to facilitate cooperation among member states in protection of intellectual property. Currently ARIPO has twenty (20) member states which include Uganda, Bostwana, Kingdom of Eswatini, The Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, The Kingdom of Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

The election of Mr. Bemanya Twebaze is proof that Uganda’s outlook to the external world has improved over the years and the country and its leaders can now make more meaningful contribution even across the borders.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *