Tuesday, May 21, 2024
Home > News > Four More Candidates Nominated For Kayunga LCV By-Election

Four More Candidates Nominated For Kayunga LCV By-Election

Muwonge Andrew of NRM getting nominated

The Electoral Commission has nominated four more candidates on the second day of nominations for by-election of District Chairperson, Kayunga District Local Government.

Musisi Boniface Bandikubi (Independent); Muwonge Andrew (NRM); Kamoga Jamilu (Independent) and Waddimba Anthony (DP) now join the list of candidates which already has Nyanzi Majid (Independent) and  Nakweede Harriet (NUP) who were nominated on Monday 29/11/2021.

Kamoga Jamilu getting nominated

The candidates were declared nominated by the District Returning Officer, Ms. Jennifer Kyobutungi.

The nomination exercise will be concluded today, Tuesday 30th November, 2021 at 5pm.

The  EC is filling the following categories in the ongoing  by-elections countrywide: District Chairperson for Kayunga District; District Women Councilors; District Directly Elected Councilors; Municipality Directly Elected Councilors; Municipality Women Councilors; Sub-county Chairpersons; Sub-county Directly Elected Councilors; Sub-County Women Councilors; and Councilors representing Special Interest Groups (SIGs) (People with Disabilities; Older Persons, Workers and Youth).

Candidates’ campaign meetings will be conducted for a period of thirteen (13) days, that is, from 2nd to 14th December 2021.

Polling and tallying of results for elections of Councilors representing Special Interest Groups (SIGs) shall take place on Wednesday 15th December 2021.

Meanwhile, polling for the District Chairperson, Kayunga, and other Local Government Councils shall take place on Thursday 16th December 2021, at all polling stations in the affected electoral areas, EC has said.

Taddewo William Senyonyi
William is a seasoned business and finance journalist. He is also an agripreneur and a coffee enthusiast.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *