Saturday, December 3, 2022
Home > News > KCCA Technical Staff In Trouble For Skipping Council Meeting

KCCA Technical Staff In Trouble For Skipping Council Meeting

The Minister for Kampala Minsa Kabanda has directed the Executive Director of Kampala Capital City Authority -KCCA Dorothy Kisaka to take disciplinary action against members of technical staff who missed a council sitting weeks back.

On 30th June, the Speaker of KCCA Zahara Luyirika called for a council sitting on 6th July but while the Lord Mayor Erias Lukwago, all members of the City Executive Committee and Councillors attended the sitting, non of the members from the technical staff was present and no apologies communicated.

The speaker asked a team of three Councillors led by the Kawempe South representative Julius Kateregga to visit the executive Director’s office and that of the Clerk to Authority to find out if they were around and why they were not at the meeting. According to the KCCA Act 2010, Council quorum is constituted of two thirds of the members of the house and the speaker to chair the house. The same law provides that the office of the executive Director is responsible for the minutes which are taken by the clerk to council.

The councilors upon return reported that the office of the executive Director was closed as was that of the clerk too although the clerk was said to be engaged somewhere in the building. They didn’t give any reasons as to why the clerk and other technical staff were not in attendance.

In the absence of the Clerk to Council, a decision was taken that another person takes minutes and shares them with the clerk for filing. A motion was moved to take in a non council member to take the minutes and it was passed. A personal assistant to the Speaker took notes of the minutes.

Now in a letter dated 23rd July 2021, the Minister has instructed the executive director to take disciplinary action against the technical officers who missed the council Meeting, an act she described as unethical.

She further instructed her to find out the cause of the delay in constituting the leadership structure in all the five divisions of Kampala, Kawempe, Lubaga, Makindye, Nakawa and Kampala Central.

The divisions have not been convening council sitting during which they would confirm executive committee members appointed by the division mayors. The mayors are the chairpersons of the five member division executive committees.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *