Thursday, July 18, 2024
Home > Featured > Police Pins 38 MPs For Parliament Fist fight

Police Pins 38 MPs For Parliament Fist fight

A report compiled by the Parliamentary Police Directorate has pinned 38 Members of Parliament for allegedly causing chaos and vandalizing equipment in the Chambers last week.

The report signed by Paul Kato, the OC CID parliamentary police was sent to Speaker of Parliament Rebecca Kadaga on September 28. It is currently before Parliament’s Rules, Discipline and Privileges committee which is investigating the matter.

On the list compiled based on CCTV camera footage from the happenings in parliament on the fateful day, are MPs Charles Angiro Gutumoi, Akello Judith Franca, Lucy Akello, Alioni Odria, Allan Sewanyana, Monicah Amoding, Ariko Edmund Herbert, Barnabas Tinkasiimire, Andrew Aja Baryayanga, Gerald Karuhanga, Gilbert Olanya and Micheal Kabaziguruka.

Also named on the same list are MPs Moses Kasibante, Kato Lubwama, Robert Kyagulanyi, Latif Ssebaggala, Mathias Mpuuga, Mbaju Jackson, Medard Lubega Seggona, Muhammad Nsereko, Muhindo Harold Tonny, Muwanga Kivumbi, Francis Mwijukye and Betty Nambooze.

Others are Nathan Nandala Mafabi, Sam Lyomoki, Wilfred Niwagaba, William Nzoghu, Otto Samuel Odonga, Odur Jonathan, Onguzu Lee, Osegge Angeline, Oyet Simon, Ssempala Kigozi, Joseph Sewungu, Sizomu Gershom Wambedde and Francis Zaake.

However, rules committee chairperson Clement Ongalo Obote says that the report will not be entirely relied on for the investigations but will form part of the research into the chaos that dominated parliament on Tuesday, September 26 and Wednesday, September 27, 2017.

On the two days, chaotic scenes characterized parliament as a section of legislators put up a spirited fight to block the presentation of a motion for a private members bill on the amendment of article 102 (b) of the constitution.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *