Monday, March 4, 2024
Home > News > 2021 POLLS: EC Clears Supporters Of Four Presidential Hopefuls

2021 POLLS: EC Clears Supporters Of Four Presidential Hopefuls

The Electoral Commission has verified and cleared the supporters of four aspiring candidates for the 2021 Presidential Elections. They are Yoweri Kaguta Museveni (NRM), Mwesigye Fred (Independent), Tumukunde Henry Kakurugu (Independent) and Kalembe Nancy Linda (Independent).

Section 10(b) of the Presidential Elections Act provides that a Presidential candidate’s nomination shall be supported by not less than one hundred (100) persons who are registered voters, from not less than ninety-eight (98) districts, which form two thirds (2/3) of all the districts of Uganda.

The Commission is still verifying the supporters of 18 other aspiring candidates (see table below).

The Presidential aspirants who have attained verified supporters from at least 98 Districts/Cities shall be issued with a certificate of compliance which they will present to the Returning Officer on nomination day.

The nomination of Presidential Candidates shall be conducted on Monday 2nd and Tuesday 3rd November 2020, at Kyambogo University Sports Grounds.


  1. Yoweri Kaguta Museveni (National Resistance Movement – NRM), verified & cleared
  2. Bbaale Charles (Ecological Party of Uganda – EPU), under verification
  3. Tumukunde Henry Kakurugu (Independent) verified & cleared
  4. Mwesigye Fred (Independent) verified & cleared
  5. Mayambala Willy (Independent) under verification
  6. Lugudde-Katwe Elizabeth (Independent) under verification
  7. Mutono Mbulambago Robert (Independent) under verification
  8. Ebetu Simon (Independent) under verification
  9. Mabirizi Joseph (Independent) under verification
  10. Kabuleta Kiiza Joseph (Independent) under verification
  11. Yamureebire Jothan (Independent) under verification
  12. Makmot Moses (Independent) under verification
  13. Okoth Geoffrey (Independent) under verification
  14. Kyagulanyi Ssentamu Robert (National Unity Platform – NUP) under verification
  15. Katumba John (Independent) under verification
  16. Kalembe Nancy Linda (Independent) verified & cleared
  17. Katushemererwe Brenda (Independent) under verification
  18. Amuriat Oboi Patrick (Forum for Democratic Change – FDC) under verification
  19. Mugisha Muntu Gregg (Alliance for National Transformation – ANT), under verification
  20. Sserunjogi Henry (Independent) under verification
  21. Chemuko Wakuri Fred (Revolutionary People’s Party – RPP), under verification
  22. Mirembe Phiona (Independent) under verification

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *